Game Mechanics Your Thoughts on How to Do Transformable and Destructible Landscape?

Hello Everyone,

I recently began a thread in the Programming forum asking how one might have Game Maker randomly generate a Risk-style map for a strategy game. I got some good advice, but it quickly became apparent that the requirements are way beyond an absolute beginner like myself, especially considering some of the features that I ultimately want my game to have. And so, for now, I have settled for pre-made maps.

One of the aforementioned features is the ability to transform or even destroy vast swathes of land, for I'm making a "god game" that gives the player the ability to do so. What I intend to do in order to achieve this in my pre-made maps is to draw the entire thing out in my art program, including the regions, and then cut those regions out of that image one by one. Then in Game Maker I reassemble them again like a jigsaw, with each region sprite belonging to an object. I've attached a screenshot of my testing room which has a reassembled map, a makeshift city, and a makeshift human. The water that the land tiles rest within is not the background, but an object of its own on a lower layer.