1. Hey! Guest! The 31st GMC Jam will take place between Nov 16th, 12:00 UTC (Friday noon) and Nov 26th, 12:00 UTC (Monday noon). Why not join in! Click here to find out more!
    Dismiss Notice

Your Journey as a Programmer

Discussion in 'Community Chat' started by SnotWaffle Studios, Oct 25, 2018.

1. SnotWaffle Studios

SnotWaffle Studios Member

Hi guys & gals!

I'd like to open up a discussion on your journey as a programmer. Here are some questions to start off with. Pick whichever you'd like.

• Did you have any experience or education prior to using GameMaker: Studio or GameMaker Studio 2?
    • Are you self-taught?
    • Did you go to school for Computer Science or Game Design?
    • Did you go because you wanted to make games?
    • Do you make games for a living, a hobby, or both?
    • Do you make non-game software in with GameMaker?
    • How has GameMaker influenced your career path?

As for myself, I started using GameMaker when I was 10 or 11 (around when GM5 was out) and stuck with it on and off throughout my life. I was self-taught for many years. I went to UNLV to get a Music Composition degree but switched after 2 years to Computer Science. I'm now one semester away from having my degree. Many of the things I have been taught in school have come a lot easier because of my background in GameMaker. On the other side, my education has helped me become a better programmer in GameMaker. Making games is a hobby for me, but I have made some money from doing contract work (some educational games for a website). It just feels good to solve problems and create something in the process.

I want to hear your stories!
    Thank you!
    -Aaron

2. JackTurbo

JackTurbo Member

Interesting topic.

I trained as a graphic designer originally, ended up teaching myself web design along the way with the help of operas curriculum on the topic. This was mainly because of how laughable webdesign modules are on graphic design courses here in the UK.