wrap outside the room - objects disappear

X

Xysterdust

I'm new to GM and I've just finished the asteroid tutorial.

In the tutorial you set up a spawner object to spawn asteroids when no more asteroid instances exist.

During a playthrough I reached a point where there were no more visible asteroids, but the game was not respawning the instances. I had seen the last mini asteroid go off the screen in the corner and never came back.

Testing this, I can make my player object(the space ship) disappear as well. simply move the object off the screen towards the corner and have it move horizontally when it is no longer visible on the top or bottom borders. Pretty much try to intentionally make it outside of the room when approaching a corner. Then the object disappears and is out of the room.

At this point I cant get the object back into the room. pressing up(speeding up) and trying all directions do not work. It is now "stuck" outside of the room.

I can reproduce this easily.

Is this the way its supposed to work? Is there a better way to code this with the same intent of having the object wrap outside the room?

I created a video of the problem.

Last edited by a moderator:
X

Xysterdust

Latch, thank you very much.

Originally I setup an Outside Room event to use the "wrap screen" prefab action. I changed it to execute code and used the command you suggested. At move_wrap(1,1,32) I can still reproduce the problem. At move_wrap(1,1,10) I can as well. But at move_wrap(1,1,1) I can't reproduce it. It seems "fixed", but obviously the wrap happens a bit suddenly and doesnt feel exactly smooth.

However, this is much more preferred than losing an object.

I would love if anyone else can chime in on this and maybe explain whats happening.

thanks again Latch. Very helpful!

W

WingedRobot