• Hey Guest! Ever feel like entering a Game Jam, but the time limit is always too much pressure? We get it... You lead a hectic life and dedicating 3 whole days to make a game just doesn't work for you! So, why not enter the GMC SLOW JAM? Take your time! Kick back and make your game over 4 months! Interested? Then just click here!
  • Hello [name]! Thanks for joining the GMC. Before making any posts in the Tech Support forum, can we suggest you read the forum rules? These are simple guidelines that we ask you to follow so that you can get the best help possible for your issue.

Windows Win32 function failed 0x8007000e (CreateBuffer at line 282 in \VertexBuilderM.cpp

S

Simplekat

Good afternoon,

I'm new to GMS and have only been using it for a couple of days. I am suddenling running into a crash and I have no idea what's causing it as the error it is throwing seems unique to results on Google or this forum.

When running the project, it displays the map but I am unable to interact with it (I'm currently at the mapping stage of the tutorial).

error_gms.png

The tutorial I am following introduces two scripts; src_save_game_data and src_load_game_data. Without these scripts, my game does not crash. However when they are introduced I am unable to run the project and the error immediately causes the crash. I have tried;

- Ensuring my GPU is allocated to GMS as opposed to onboard.
- Updating all drives (including checking for Windows updates).
- Uninstalling and reinstalling.

Any help that you could give would be very appreciated. Thank you!

S

Simplekat

Show us what is in src_save_game_data and src_load_game_data, as the error is likely in that code.
Thank you for your reply. The code is as follows;

scr_save_game_data
GML:
//This script will save the strings that the map holds

ini_open("battle_map_strings.ini");

for (var i = 0; i < ds_list_size(battle_map_list); i ++){
    ini_write_string("Data String", string(i), battle_map_list[| i]);

}