Why I use GM8

Status
Not open for further replies.

SSJCoder

It's about that time .. people just don't get it .. I'm not the type of person to keep explaining myself, so I guess I better make this topic by now xD ..
(I don't care move it/lock it if you have to @Nocturne .. you seem to always be doing that to my posts ..)

So .. first reason incoming .. back in the day they release GM 8.1 .. GREAT ! however, there's one little feature that annoyed me, and since I haven't used GM 8.1 in a long time and I'm pretty sure I was a noob at the time you can still blame me, but basically, they made all scripts have mandatory arguments .. that really annoyed me, and it had I think one time when it stopped working for me (GM 8.1 itself) and that just made me close it down for good.

GM:HTML5 was coming around, that one really intrigued me .. was super into it .. but then it was cancelled, later to be replaced by GM:Studio .. great, but I didn't like it ..
and also from my tests it wasn't stable enough for my taste .

They added a bunch of stuff like exports and whatnot, and at this time I was getting into HTML5. now .. HTML5 is basically what I need, and it's what I'm into .. knowing by now how Studio is actually quite limited in HTML5, and the fact that there is a price point to Studio but HTML5 is free .. I kinda figured that's my strategic move that I need to make .. so .. I basically ditched GM altogether for HTML5 .. I also am pretty sure I learned C++ sometime here (in this time when I was ditching GM) ..

C++ didn't interest me, and about 3 years ago I started working on/researching programming languages, I've made probably over 10 versions of my language by now .. whether it converts into assembly .. GML .. JS ..

So, by now I have a few versions that work (yay!), and that combined with my access to HTML5 gives me basically all I need .. I also have that copy of GM8 that I keep close to myself since it's the last version that I use, which yoyo released ..