• Hey Guest! Ever feel like entering a Game Jam, but the time limit is always too much pressure? We get it... You lead a hectic life and dedicating 3 whole days to make a game just doesn't work for you! So, why not enter the GMC SLOW JAM? Take your time! Kick back and make your game over 4 months! Interested? Then just click here!

What should I do before deciding if I want a degree in programming?

GM Peter

Hello! I'm a casual programmer that uses GameMaker, and I have thought that it would be a great idea to get a degree in programming games. However, I don't know if I would be able to learn the advanced side of it. I have thought of attending a free online class to determine my decision, but I don't know what would be the best class for me. What do you think?

Really, nothing is unlearnable. The question you should be asking is "Do I find programming enjoyable enough that I have the commitment to buckle down and spend as long as it takes to learn the parts I find difficult." You should already have at least a partial answer to that from doing some casual game dev. When you run into a problem do you feel like it's an enjoyable challenge? Have you spent a few days or weeks researching and trying to get something done yet? How motivated do you feel to problem solve while you're programming?

These questions are what you'll need to find answers to. If you don't find the difficult parts of programming "fun" then can you really guarantee you'll want to stick through with the course when it does end up getting difficult? I mean, we all get frustrated with programming at times, but it can be an enjoyable frustration, or the point where you battle through and solve it can outweigh the frustration of butting your head against the problem. If that's not the case, then maybe programming isn't for you. But if it is then you'll find a way to learn the hard parts when they come.

Prrz