• Hey Guest! Ever feel like entering a Game Jam, but the time limit is always too much pressure? We get it... You lead a hectic life and dedicating 3 whole days to make a game just doesn't work for you! So, why not enter the GMC SLOW JAM? Take your time! Kick back and make your game over 4 months! Interested? Then just click here!

What Should Be My First Project

D

DannyBoy

Hello there, I'm completely new to game development and ultimately hoping to create some narrative heavy games. The problem is, everyone tells you when you start game development (or any creative task) to start small. Usually, in game development, this means creating a simple platformer or a single level mobile game, and I don't personally have any interest in either type of game.

Is there another type of project that I can start out on that would perhaps be more interesting (my favorite games are RPGs, adventure games, and strategy games)?

Ladi_Pix3l

I 'm in the same boat as you actually. However, there is a learning curve you have to go through in order to pursue that prime game you're looking for. There are lots of helpful ppl here too to help you with any question you may have. Be aware of the salty sailors sir. Some of them don't like newbies who ask obvious questions. Not saying that'll be you but, just giving you the heads up.

In my opinion you should start with small projects that will get you used to the basics of Game Maker. 9 out of 10 ppl will tell you to practice with GML and I agree. The D&D will only get you so far.
Start with games that resemble...
  • Asteroids
  • Snake
  • Mario
Just to get a feel for what is possible. Again this is just my opinion :rolleyes:

FrostyCat

Redemption Seeker