• Hey Guest! Ever feel like entering a Game Jam, but the time limit is always too much pressure? We get it... You lead a hectic life and dedicating 3 whole days to make a game just doesn't work for you! So, why not enter the GMC SLOW JAM? Take your time! Kick back and make your game over 4 months! Interested? Then just click here!

What Room Size is Best for a Mobile Game?

MouseLiver

TL;DR I'm a decent programmer wanting to make a point and click dating sim for mobile. I need to know what size room would be best for mobile screens and how to shrink it or blow it up to match every screen without any distortion. There is no need for complex cameras or views, the room size will remain 100% visible and fixed at all times. I've tried doing research online, and have read through several articles that don't really explain it well enough, they just kinda dump code onto me. Any help would be appreciated!

Hello! I'm currently working on a dating sim game for iOS and Android. I've been watching Heartbeast tutorials for a couple of months now, I take notes while doing it and ensure that I understand the code before resuming the videos. I know finally feel comfortable enough to go ahead and begin making my own game, but there are some specific things, like this question, that I still can't work out, and figures that turning to this community would be my best option for development time.

Before I begin, I need to know what size room I should use. I don't want to waste my time on sprites or even on placeholder sprites if I'll just have to resize everything further down the line. Since this is essential a simple point and click game, I know I won't have to mess with cameras or views at all. There is no need for object following, zooming, panning, etc. I just want to know how I can make it fit every type of screen across all iOS and Android devices without weird distortion.