• Hey Guest! Ever feel like entering a Game Jam, but the time limit is always too much pressure? We get it... You lead a hectic life and dedicating 3 whole days to make a game just doesn't work for you! So, why not enter the GMC SLOW JAM? Take your time! Kick back and make your game over 4 months! Interested? Then just click here!

what are your game making goals?

pixeltroid

I've been using GM for 4 weeks now and my first priority is to finish off an "engine" for a platform game. Though I dont know coding, I have something working made by putting together pieces of code from youtube, these forums and reddit.

Initially, I considered taking a few programming courses to improve my gamemaker projects, but then I remembered I've been working full time as a graphic designer for the last 12 years and have a full time job. So its not very likely that I'd be getting into game making for a living full time. I just want to be able to make games and share with people who have the same tastes as me!

My goal right now is to perfect the engine I have and use it put out "finished" games on a blog for free, and be able to list "2D game making" in my job resume. I do sometimes wish GM came out when I was in school; that way I could have entered the "professional" game design industry.

Anyway, guys...I'd like to read about your goals with game designing.

Reactions: Roa
M

MishMash

To Eventually finish my game Vitality :)

... Oh and continue to prove wrong all internet programmers, and show them that GM is a viable engine :p

Gamer (ex-Cantavanda)

〜Flower Prince〜
To become the CEO of an AAA game company and make a huge multi-million open world 1st/3rd person fantasy/sci-fi RPG that has a huge 100s hours single-player campaign with huge quests, different combat systems and different multi-player modes. Pretty easy, right?

EDIT: I'm serious! I would love to do that.
EDIT2: Except for the easy part, it will probably never never happen, of course.

Reactions: Roa

Roa