GML Visual What are the easiest game genres (ex. platformer, shooter, etc.) to code using GameMaker 1.4?

M

Mapped

I'm new with GameMaker and I grabbed the 15 bucks bundle for the GameMaker: Studio 1.4 Licenses.
I'm making a video game as a school project (in which you can do pretty much whatever you want as long as it has a goal to it), but since I'm a beginner, my capacities are pretty limited. So here's the background.
I want to create a game with at least 5 video game genres mixed into it (ex platformer that switches into a puzzle into a shooter etc.), but which of those genres require the least experience? It's not that I'm lazy I just want to save myself some hours or days of struggling with code that I'm not yet familiar with (not that GML looks complicated but still, I'm a newbie).

Thanks for the help!

G

Guest User

wellll most people recommend platformers...i find them hard as crud personally what with all the jumping and gravity and blegh.

so if you're a bit programming-challenged like me i'd recommend a simple grid-based, top-down "walking simulator" to start out with instead tbh. just like...an RPG but without all the complicated systems until you get a handle on GMS.

pretty simple, if you stick to the basics. otherwise, make Super Mario or something esp. considering there's a metric ton of tutorials for plats and plenty of devs who work on platformers that are willing to help you out.

Z

zendraw

pretty much what hipster said, a top down game. and to be even more easy for you, you can make the areas the size of the screen or around that so you have a clear overview of the levels. and its more easy to design.

poliver

any genre in top-down perspective or a platformer

for simplest top-down you can get away with just collision checks and some variables
for a simplest platformer the same, just add gravity/jump and limit movement to left/right

puzzles are probably the hardest ones to implement imho depending on the scope and depth