• Hey Guest! Ever feel like entering a Game Jam, but the time limit is always too much pressure? We get it... You lead a hectic life and dedicating 3 whole days to make a game just doesn't work for you! So, why not enter the GMC SLOW JAM? Take your time! Kick back and make your game over 4 months! Interested? Then just click here!

wanted.....General game making steps help and tips.

T

teamrocketboyz

Hello all, ive been using game maker for a few months now and was a complete beginner to start off with, im planning on next year really knuckling down and trying to produce a quality product. but first i have a few questions.

as im very new and still at basic level what would you guys recommend i do until jan.

do a few tutorials from the GM website? read the manual completely? any recommended books?

or do i simply just spend that time on creating a quality idea?

also how do you guys go about making a game from scratch, say i have an idea for a platformer would you create the player and nail his movement, then create blocks,floors,enemies etc but not actually make the levels just the objects and then once all of that is complete and you have all the objects you then go about making the levels and creating the rooms, or do you create each aspect as you go.
normally i create player,create bullets, create floor, create platforms, build level, oh i need a rock falling so i create that, oh i need a tree there so i create that. this can lead to me never really finishing a project but spending days on it and going nowhere, i would really like to shake that mentality.