Walking Animation

Zizka

Hello,
I'd like to get feedback for the walking animation. It's missing something to me. I'm not happy with it.
The idea was to do something similar as Paper Mario walking animation:
1489871844_output_MzFjSH.gif

This is my version:
ezgif.com-gif-maker (3).gif

(nevermind the artifacts in the background).

I'm not sure why the Paper Mario animation works so well and mine doesn't... This is the 16th version I've tried.

Weirdly enough, I still feel my second take is the one the most interesting to look at so far. It could be because I drew each individual frame of the feet as opposed to simply moving the same image frame by frame...

ezgif.com-gif-maker (2).gif

D

Deleted member 13992

I love where the second take is going! Honestly I don't think the Paper Mario one is even that impressive. Both boots are oddly 'behind' Mario, which looks worse than what you're doing in my opinion.

I'm not an animation expert, though I think part of the reason your first take looks weird is that you've applied stretch and squash to the head but not the body.

I would maybe recommend (as a test) separating different elements in your second take into individual movable images. Like the arm, upper body, lower body, chest plate, head, and moving them individually slightly offset form each-other, in sync with the jogging. Without stretch for starters. Then if you can get a little bit of "swing" on those individual elements looking good, maybe think about stretching them.

I'm not sure though. I'm not an animator, and am still learning everything. I found this video pretty useful, by the way:

Mk.2

Before reading, I thought you were asking for advice on the Mario sprite because some improvements sprung to mind immediately. However, I'd say the reason it appears less stiff than your version is because the leg part of the animation is much faster, making it appear more cartoonish while hiding how stiff the motion actually is.

Khao