Windows Very Long Time to Run(F5) Project

Discussion in 'GameMaker Studio 2 Community Tech Support' started by OfficiallyNerdy, Oct 27, 2018.

  1. OfficiallyNerdy

    OfficiallyNerdy Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2018
    Posts:
    10
    I had just recently bought GMS2 with the developer license and installed it on my desktop PC. An odd issue I have been having that I haven't been finding any solutions for is that when I run a project that I am creating, it takes a very long time to load.

    A blank room with one object takes nearly 40 seconds just to run, while in videos I have seen people load their large projects in seconds.

    When running a project my computer doesn't slow down and the RAM and CPU usage are relatively small.
    I would like to think my computer specs aren't too bad with
    16gb ram
    4.0GHz CPU
    radeon r9 380x 4gb GPU

    I am hoping to find a fix or a way to make my project load much faster, as it is quite ineffective.
    Thankyou if you can help!
     
  2. OfficiallyNerdy

    OfficiallyNerdy Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2018
    Posts:
    10
    Here is the console output when I run a project:
    =================================================================================================
    "cmd" /c subst Z: "C:\Users\######Gaming PC\AppData\Roaming\GameMakerStudio2\Cache\GMS2CACHE"

    elapsed time 00:00:00.0480003s for command "cmd" /c subst Z: "C:\Users\######Gaming PC\AppData\Roaming\GameMakerStudio2\Cache\GMS2CACHE" started at 10/26/2018 21:36:27
    "cmd" /c subst Y: "C:\Users\###### Gaming PC\AppData\Local\GameMakerStudio2\GMS2TEMP"

    elapsed time 00:00:00.0989980s for command "cmd" /c subst Y: "C:\Users\######Gaming PC\AppData\Local\GameMakerStudio2\GMS2TEMP" started at 10/26/2018 21:36:27
    "cmd" /c subst X: "C:\ProgramData\GameMakerStudio2\Cache\runtimes\runtime-2.2.0.258"

    elapsed time 00:00:00.0529988s for command "cmd" /c subst X: "C:\ProgramData\GameMakerStudio2\Cache\runtimes\runtime-2.2.0.258" started at 10/26/2018 21:36:27
    Saving project to: D:\Game Maker\Projects\My First Game\My First Game.yyp
    "C:\ProgramData/GameMakerStudio2/Cache/runtimes\runtime-2.2.0.258/bin/Igor.exe" -options="C:\Users\######Gaming PC\AppData\Local\GameMakerStudio2\GMS2TEMP\build.bff" -- Windows Run

    Loaded Macros from C:\Users\######Gaming PC\AppData\Roaming\GameMakerStudio2\Cache\GMS2CACHE\My_First_G_989A7EE4_7C8C4BB0\macros.json
    Options: X:/bin\platform_setting_defaults.json
    Options: C:\Users\######Gaming PC\AppData\Roaming/GameMakerStudio2\mlorenz1012_1788002\local_settings.json
    Options: C:\Users\######Gaming PC\AppData\Roaming\GameMakerStudio2\Cache\GMS2CACHE\My_First_G_989A7EE4_7C8C4BB0\targetoptions.json
    X://bin/GMAssetCompiler.exe /c /zpex /mv=1 /iv=0 /rv=0 /bv=0 /j=8 /gn="My First Game" /td="Y:/" /cd="Z:/My_First_G_989A7EE4_7C8C4BB0" /zpuf="C:\Users\######Gaming PC\AppData\Roaming/GameMakerStudio2\mlorenz1012_1788002" /m=windows /tgt=64 /nodnd /cfg="default" /o="Y:/My_First_Game_1C7140F9_VM" /sh=True /optionsini="Y:/My_First_Game_1C7140F9_VM\options.ini" /cvm /baseproject="X:/BaseProject\BaseProject.yyp" "D:\Game Maker\Projects\My First Game\My First Game.yyp" /preprocess="Z:/My_First_G_989A7EE4_7C8C4BB0"
    Reading project file....D:\Game Maker\Projects\My First Game
    Reading project file....X:\BaseProject
    Reading config delta 'D:\Game Maker\Projects\My First Game\options\main\inherited\options_main.inherited.yy'
    finished.


    X://bin/GMAssetCompiler.exe DONE (0)
    Release build
    OptionsIni
    Options: Z:/My_First_G_989A7EE4_7C8C4BB0\PlatformOptions.json
    [Compile] Run asset compiler
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\cmd.exe /c ""X://bin/GMAssetCompiler.exe" /c /zpex /mv=1 /iv=0 /rv=0 /bv=0 /j=8 /gn="My First Game" /td="Y:/" /cd="Z:/My_First_G_989A7EE4_7C8C4BB0" /zpuf="C:\Users\######Gaming PC\AppData\Roaming/GameMakerStudio2\mlorenz1012_1788002" /m=windows /tgt=64 /nodnd /cfg="default" /o="Y:/My_First_Game_1C7140F9_VM" /sh=True /optionsini="Y:/My_First_Game_1C7140F9_VM\options.ini" /cvm /baseproject="X:/BaseProject\BaseProject.yyp" "D:\Game Maker\Projects\My First Game\My First Game.yyp" /bt=run"
    Reading project file....D:\Game Maker\Projects\My First Game
    Reading project file....X:\BaseProject
    Reading config delta 'D:\Game Maker\Projects\My First Game\options\main\inherited\options_main.inherited.yy'
    finished.
    Compile Constants...finished.
    Remove DnD...finished.
    Compile Scripts...finished.
    Compile Objects...finished.
    Compile Timelines...finished.
    Compile Triggers...finished.
    Compile Rooms...finished.
    Compile Extensions...finished.
    Global scripts...finished.
    Final Compile...finished.
    Saving IFF file... Y:/My_First_Game_1C7140F9_VM\My First Game.win
    Writing Chunk... GEN8
    option_game_speed=30
    Writing Chunk... OPTN
    Writing Chunk... LANG
    Writing Chunk... EXTN
    Writing Chunk... SOND
    Writing Chunk... AGRP
    Writing Chunk... SPRT
    Writing Chunk... BGND
    Writing Chunk... PATH
    Writing Chunk... SCPT
    Writing Chunk... GLOB
    Writing Chunk... SHDR
    Writing Chunk... FONT
    Writing Chunk... TMLN
    Writing Chunk... OBJT
    Writing Chunk... ROOM
    Writing Chunk... DAFL
    Writing Chunk... EMBI
    Writing Chunk... TPAGE
    Texture Group - Default
    Writing Chunk... CODE
    Writing Chunk... VARI
    Writing Chunk... FUNC
    Writing Chunk... STRG
    Writing Chunk... TXTR
    0 Compressing texture... writing texture texture_0.png...
    Writing Chunk... AUDO
    Writing Chunk... SCPT
    Writing Chunk... DBGI
    Writing Chunk... INST
    Writing Chunk... LOCL
    Writing Chunk... STRG
    Stats : GMA : Elapsed=664.013
    Stats : GMA : sp=2,au=0,bk=0,pt=0,sc=0,sh=0,fo=0,tl=0,ob=2,ro=1,da=0,ex=0,ma=3,fm=0x200400200020


    C:\WINDOWS\system32\cmd.exe DONE (0)
    DoSteam
    Igor complete.
    [Run] Run game
    Options: Z:/My_First_G_989A7EE4_7C8C4BB0\MainOptions.json
    X://windows/Runner.exe -game "Y:/My_First_Game_1C7140F9_VM\My First Game.win"
    Attempting to set gamepadcount to 12
    DirectX11: Using hardware device
    Total memory used = 7591572(0x0073d694) bytes
    ===========================================================================


    hopefully that can be used
     
    Last edited: Oct 27, 2018
  3. Joe Ellis

    Joe Ellis Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2016
    Posts:
    607
    Your computer is faster than mine, and my projects usually load in about 3 - 10 seconds, sorry I havent got any advice, how long have you had your computer? It could have a virus,
     
  4. OfficiallyNerdy

    OfficiallyNerdy Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2018
    Posts:
    10
    hmm thanks for the quick response, I've had my computer for 1-2 years, currently I don't have any similar issues with any other programs. Photoshop loads up quickly and many games as well.
     
  5. OfficiallyNerdy

    OfficiallyNerdy Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2018
    Posts:
    10
    I do have Game Maker installed in my second hard drive, maybe that could be an issue?
     
  6. Joe Ellis

    Joe Ellis Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2016
    Posts:
    607
    That could well be the problem, I don't know though, I'm not very whatsit with the hardware side of things
     
  7. sylvain_l

    sylvain_l Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2016
    Posts:
    704
    what is your second hard drive? if it's not a SSD that could explain the delay (mostly if it's a 5400rpm very fragemented HDD)
     
  8. OfficiallyNerdy

    OfficiallyNerdy Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2018
    Posts:
    10
    I've solved my problem! :) , all I did was reinstall GMS onto my other hardrive, and now my project loading times are less than 10 seconds.
    It is still strange because my HDDs are nearly identical, my second drive was a 1tb 7400 rpm Seagate BarraCuda, nonetheless my issue is resolved.
    Thank you

    EDIT: My issue has not been resolved and it still persists, RIP. I thought it worked earlier.
     
    Last edited: Oct 27, 2018
  9. nlolotte

    nlolotte Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2016
    Posts:
    416
    I think this could be the issue.

    I am using an I5 7400k @3.5ghz, 16gb RAM and a 6gb GTX 1060. My primary drive with my windows installation on is a 200gb SSD and my slave drive is a 1tb HDD.

    I suffer from terrible compile times, sometimes minutes. My GMS2 install is on the HDD and it makes no difference. How big is your project?
     
    Last edited: Oct 29, 2018
  10. OfficiallyNerdy

    OfficiallyNerdy Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2018
    Posts:
    10
    I've tried reinstalling Gamemaker on both my drive, one is 7400rpm 1tb SSHD and the other is 7400rpm 1tb HDD, no luck although when i first installed it to the SSHD it ran quickly at first.
    This happens when i run a with a project with no objects, no sprites, and just one room.

    I have also noticed in the output console when I run it will almost instantly reach the lines saying

    C:\WINDOWS\system32\cmd.exe DONE (0)
    DoSteam
    Igor complete.
    [Run] Run game
    Options: Z:/testing_5E946A71\MainOptions.json
    X://windows/Runner.exe -game "Y:/testing_56342276_VM\testing.win"


    however it stops at that point and takes nearly 30 seconds before it proceeds to say

    Attempting to set gamepadcount to 12
    DirectX11: Using hardware device
    Total memory used = 6510379(0x0063572b) bytes

    and then my project will finally open.
    After that the rest of the console output will say

    Resizing swap chain...Attempting to set gamepadcount to 0
    ---------------------------------------------------------------
    minFPS, maxFPS, avgFPS
    318, 3048, 1853
    ---------------------------------------------------------------
    ---------------------------------------------------------------
    minFPS, maxFPS, avgFPS
    318, 3048, 1853
    ---------------------------------------------------------------


    X://windows/Runner.exe DONE (0)
    Igor complete.
    elapsed time 00:02:21.9625330s for command "C:\ProgramData\GameMakerStudio2\Cache\runtimes\runtime-2.2.0.261/bin/Igor.exe" -options="C:\Users\Michael's Gaming PC\AppData\Local\GameMakerStudio2\GMS2TEMP\build.bff" -- Windows Run started at 10/28/2018 12:08:19
    "cmd" /c subst Z: /d

    elapsed time 00:00:00.0969983s for command "cmd" /c subst Z: /d started at 10/28/2018 12:10:41
    "cmd" /c subst Y: /d

    elapsed time 00:00:00.1119981s for command "cmd" /c subst Y: /d started at 10/28/2018 12:10:41
    "cmd" /c subst X: /d

    elapsed time 00:00:00.0779988s for command "cmd" /c subst X: /d started at 10/28/2018 12:10:41
    SUCCESS: Run Program Complete


    I am really not sure what most of this means so the info wouldn't be useful to myself.
     
  11. sylvain_l

    sylvain_l Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2016
    Posts:
    704
    just an idea: perhaps your antivirus catch the exe when it's launch and analyse it before allowing it to run. (and in case you have assets - music and sprite - of course that make a lot more of data to parse) why the 30sec delay
     
  12. OfficiallyNerdy

    OfficiallyNerdy Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2018
    Posts:
    10
    After doing a little bit of experimenting I figured a little bit out.

    When I restart my PC gamemaker will run my projects fine and open instantly the first several times I run my project, but then after a few times, it suddenly takes 30+ seconds to run the project. It won't open instantly until I restart the PC again. This means my PC is capable of opening the projects quickly, but i am not sure why it only works a few times and then stops.
    I have tried clearing temp directory, asset cache, and IDE cache but it did nothing.
    I turned off my antivirus and that didn't do anything.
    Next I will try to do a thorough virus scan on my PC.

    (The manual AND the marketplace were showing up as white screens with a loading symbol today but then it fixed itself..?)
    I really hope I can fix this soon.
     
  13. nlolotte

    nlolotte Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2016
    Posts:
    416
    I get the same thing, a restart fixes it for the first 5 or so runs. Have you noticed something like this:
    The strange thing is, I dont have a T drive :S

    EDIT: apparently I do now, infact I have aquired several whilst running my game

    [​IMG]
     
  14. Dog Slobber

    Dog Slobber Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2017
    Posts:
    251
    When you compile and run games Studio (Windows only) creates temporary virtual drives. It starts at the last available drive, usually z: and works backwards.

    Note how drives T: U: V: W: X: and Z: all have the same free space and size as C:.
     
  15. OfficiallyNerdy

    OfficiallyNerdy Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2018
    Posts:
    10
    do you suppose these temporary drives can be running incorrectly, or be creating unnecessary information slowing the game running
     
  16. Dog Slobber

    Dog Slobber Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2017
    Posts:
    251
    No.
     
  17. nlolotte

    nlolotte Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2016
    Posts:
    416
    I thought the latest release prevented so many drives being created?

    • Fixed the runtime installation process so it uses fewer temporary drive mappings, which should stop "Z:\manifest" errors.
     
  18. Dog Slobber

    Dog Slobber Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2017
    Posts:
    251
    It has, but neither of the posters share what version they're using. Add to that, one of the problems some have posted about is the temporary virtual drives not being removed after the build process.
     
  19. OfficiallyNerdy

    OfficiallyNerdy Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2018
    Posts:
    10
    When I restart my PC and open game maker, and run my project and it loads correctly and quickly, it only creates ONE temporary drive, which disappears when I exit the game.
    When my issue starts, it creates about THREE temporary drives when i made no changes and im running a project with no assets.

    It says i am running IDE v2.2.0.343 and Runtime v2.2.0.261 which i would assume is the latest.
     
  20. OfficiallyNerdy

    OfficiallyNerdy Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2018
    Posts:
    10
    It has to be an issue with my PC running Gamemaker Language games. Most games work fine on my PC but recently I have tried ‘Deltarune’ which I am assuming was made in Gamemaker as was Undertale. Deltarune takes a very long time to physically launch, almost a minute, and it loads well once it launches however every several minutes it stops responding for around 30 seconds
     
  21. Munk

    Munk Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2018
    Posts:
    1
    There has to be something about this. Compiling to test little things and waiting 10 seconds when in GMS1 it was instant has been driving me crazy. Then you got me thinking, and yeah Deltarune takes the same amount of time to launch as running my project in GMS2. There's gotta be something I can do to make this run faster.
     
  22. Evan Malinowski

    Evan Malinowski Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2018
    Posts:
    207
    Ive noted GMS2 likes to make vertural Storage to run the game, Causing Extreme memory leaks and LAG
     
    Last edited: Nov 10, 2018
  23. Dog Slobber

    Dog Slobber Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2017
    Posts:
    251
    The virtual drives are created to accommodate potential path length problems

    They do not create memory leaks nor lag.
     
    Evan Malinowski likes this.
  24. ponotte

    ponotte Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2018
    Posts:
    11
    have you found an solution? i have the exacly same problem. and here's my thread about it.
    https://forum.yoyogames.com/index.php?threads/gms-2-compile-time-way-too-long.56364/
     
  25. Gunner

    Gunner Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2018
    Posts:
    19
    What is your CPU exactly OP? "4.0 GHz" isn't something useful as an information.. That's just a clock speed, you could have some crappy AMD proc from last decade and clock it at that speed, and perform worse than current gen low powered proc @0.9 GHz..

    Let us know your actual CPU, like i7 6700K or something.

    Also, in case you're using a laptop, make sure you don't set it at power saving mode as it can hold your CPU performance hence making the compile time longer.

    In most cases this should be your CPU though.

    Just as a comparison, I'm running a laptop with only i7 4720HQ (default clock speed), 8GB DDR3, 120GB cheap SSD, and my project (around 50-100MB project) compiles under 10 sec, at most 13-15. Power management set to balanced. If I set it to power saver, it will compile well over a minute.

    While at it, if all else fails, I highly recommend @YellowAfterlife 's extension called GMLive. Costs $30, but will make you wonder how in the world is it not included inside GameMaker itself. While running the game, just edit the source code, save the project, then your game is updated without having to need to recompile/rerun!
     
    Last edited: Dec 4, 2018
  26. ponotte

    ponotte Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2018
    Posts:
    11
    it has nothing to do with specs, i've had this problem for a long time, im running i5-3570k 4.3ghz, 16gb ram, ssd, 970gtx. and the projects used to compile normally in 2-5sec, but when this problem appear, compile time goes up to minute and wont go away until pc restart, just like the op said. this is the only thread i've found from the whole internet that has the same problem that i do. i even reinstalled my windows for this without any change, wich makes me think that it has something to do with my gamemaker license or something. i've sent ticket to support, they didn't respond, now i've sent another one, we'll see does yoyo give a damn about their customers, i hope i didn't pay 300€ for broken engine.
     
  27. Geoff Jones

    Geoff Jones Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2016
    Posts:
    458
    I was having similar problems, windows wipe and reload was the only eventual fix.
     
  28. ponotte

    ponotte Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2018
    Posts:
    11
    i reinstalled windows, didn't make any change.
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice