• Hey Guest! Ever feel like entering a Game Jam, but the time limit is always too much pressure? We get it... You lead a hectic life and dedicating 3 whole days to make a game just doesn't work for you! So, why not enter the GMC SLOW JAM? Take your time! Kick back and make your game over 4 months! Interested? Then just click here!

Legacy GM Very basic help with loops

P

PetrifiedPenguin

So I'm brand new to programming and even newer to GML language. I'm making a game in which the player dodges traffic as the player speeds down a 4 lane highway in a small car.

I have a step event that is supposed to check if a vehicle has passed the bottom of the room (being a y value of 800) and place it back at the top of the room, then run a loop that picks a random lane, checks that the lane isn't occupied by another vehicle already and then place that vehicle in the chosen lane (essentially picking and assigning the x value).

If the lane IS occupied it should continue the loop until it finds a free lane. This is my script so far:

Code:
if y >= 800
    {
    rep = true
    y = -48
    while rep = true
        {
            {
            lanePick = random_range(1,5)
            }
        if lanePick == 1 and !collision_line(lane1x, -96, lane1x, 0, obj_veh, false, false)
            {
            x = lane1x
            rep = false
            show_debug_message("1")
            }
        if lanePick == 2 and !collision_line(lane2x, -96, lane2x, 0, obj_veh, false, false)
            {
            x = lane2x
            rep = false
            show_debug_message("2")
            }
        if lanePick == 3 and !collision_line(lane3x, -96, lane3x, 0, obj_veh, false, false)
            {
            x = lane3x
            rep = false
            show_debug_message("3")
            }
        if lanePick == 4 and !collision_line(lane1x, -96, lane1x, 0, obj_veh, false, false)
            {
            x = lane4x
            rep = false
            show_debug_message("4")