• Hey Guest! Ever feel like entering a Game Jam, but the time limit is always too much pressure? We get it... You lead a hectic life and dedicating 3 whole days to make a game just doesn't work for you! So, why not enter the GMC SLOW JAM? Take your time! Kick back and make your game over 4 months! Interested? Then just click here!

SOLVED Variables on multiple instances are not counted

M

Matteo

Hello everyone!

This is my first post I hope I'm following the guidelines correctly.

Thanks to Tom Francis "Make a game with no experience" playlist on Youtube I started studying Gamemaker and I've come to an impasse.

I want to place multiple instances of an object in a room and have that object count a variable when a collision happens but the variable changes on collision only for the first instance ("original "instance) present in the room (I made a Draw DnD event for the variable so I can see it goes up only when the "original" instance collides)

The object oChalice has two Events with the variable OfferingS:

Create:

Code:
OfferingS = 0
Collision with oBlood:

Code:
if OfferingS = 0 {

OfferingS = 1

sprite_index = sChaliceFull

}
The sprite change works as intended for every instance and the variable stays at 0 also if the collision happens to an instance that's not the "original" one before any collision happened to the "original" one. (Meaning it's not that the variable reaches 1 and then stays there, it just doesn't change for any instance other than the original one)

I hope this is clear but please let me know if it isn't.

Thank you!

Nidoking

You aren't checking to see whether the instance is the original instance. If I'm reading you correctly (and I'm probably not), you only want one specific instance to perform those steps. You'll need to set something (possibly global) with the id of that instance and then check self against that variable, or set something in the object to be false and set it to be true only for the instance that should react.