Variable <unknown_object>.instance_create() not set before reading it.

A

Arilyn

Hello,

I'm pretty new to game maker but I've messed around with Unity a lot in the past.

I've hit a roadblock and haven't been able to figure out why I'm getting errors despite researching and reading the documentation, but it's probably because I don't quite understand how GML and scripts work.

I'm creating a card game, and I'm trying to use a DS list to store certain IDs of cards to reference them later. I've created a "DrawCards" function to create instances of the Card object and assign their card_id variable to that of the card drawn.

Here is the code for my playerDeck create event. I add 3 cards to the deck and 3 sprites to a sprite list to keep them lined up with card ids so I can load the front images in the future. After that, I create the hand object.

GML:
global.playerDeck = ds_list_create();
ds_list_add(global.playerDeck, 1, 2, 3);

deckCount = ds_list_size(global.playerDeck);

global.sprList = ds_list_create();
ds_list_add(global.sprList, spr_FrontTest1, spr_FrontTest2, spr_FrontTest3);

global.handObj = instance_create(800, 1400, obj_Hand)
The hand object runs the following code on the create event.

GML:
handCount = 0;
global.hand = ds_list_create();

DrawCards(3);
And then, here's the DrawCards function I was making:

GML:
// Script assets have changed for v2.3.0 see
// https://help.yoyogames.com/hc/en-us/articles/360005277377 for more information

function DrawCards(_count)
{
    for (i = 0; i < _count; i++)
    {
        var _obj = instance_create(500, 500, obj_Card);

//if the first card in the deck exists
        if (!is_undefined(ds_list_find_value(global.playerDeck, 0)))
        {
            //set the card id to that of the first card in the player deck.
            _obj.card_id = ds_list_find_value(global.playerDeck, 0);
            //add the card to the end of the hand.
            ds_list_add(global.hand, ds_list_find_value(global.playerDeck, 0));