GameMaker Using INI file for diologue localization, won't show apostrophe

RossmanBros

Hi everyone, I am still somewhat new to Gamemaker and hoping there is a simple fix for this. I am using an INI file to store all my dialogue since it is easy to assign different languages for localization. For example:

[intro convo]
english = "english sentence"
spanish = "spanish sentence"

My only problem is in game it is not displaying apostrophes. As you can see in the image I attached it says "ILL" instead of "I'LL"

Any help would be very appreciated. Thanks!

Attachments

CloseRange

I assume game maker is reading this as a "start to a string" because in game maker you can use " " or ' ' to call a string. I could be wrong but try adding a backslash right before the apostrophe
Code:
"Bessie I\'ll avenge you"
that's usually how you tell game maker to read the next character as part of the string.
The same would go if you wanted to use quotation marks:
Code:
"That\'s when he said, \"Wha\'s up?\""

Dmi7ry

Are you sure that used font have ' symbol? I tried just now and it works fine (without backslashes, it is not needed here).

RossmanBros

Are you sure that used font have ' symbol? I tried just now and it works fine (without backslashes, it is not needed here).
Thanks for the reply, and thanks for testing. Yes. It works fine if I write the string into the code. It does not work when I am reading the string from an INI file, saving it to a string variable, and then in the draw_text putting string(variable). Weird.

I'm guessing you tested it writing your string straight into the code, and not getting it from an INI file? Or did you test with it from a file and it worked fine? The INI file seems to be where the issue is.

Dmi7ry

Have you tried another font? For example, "Arial Unicode MS". And try to get chars range from ini file.

Can you share the project (or make a small example with the problem)?

RossmanBros

Yeah the font, multiple fonts same issue.