• Hey Guest! Ever feel like entering a Game Jam, but the time limit is always too much pressure? We get it... You lead a hectic life and dedicating 3 whole days to make a game just doesn't work for you! So, why not enter the GMC SLOW JAM? Take your time! Kick back and make your game over 4 months! Interested? Then just click here!

Using "clamp" with Image_angle

S

SupaTroopaAlpha

Hi everyone,

Im having trouble restricting my players gun angle. whether he is facing left or right he can aim the gun behind him even though he isn't facing that direction. I would like to restrict oGun to only aiming between 150 and 210 while he is facing left and 30 and 330 while facing right. When he faces left it works perfectly fine. But if he is facing right then object gun aims everywhere but in between angles 30 and 330. I tried switching the order, making negatives, median and means, but nothing works. I am extremely new to programing and using gamemnaker. Any insight will be much appreciated. Thanks!

in oGun's step event :

//This part is working perfectly

if(oPlayer.image_xscale == -1)
{
image_angle = clamp(image_angle,150,210)
}

//This part has the angle of the gun aim everywhere but in between 330 and 30.

if(oPlayer.image_xscale == 1)
{
image_angle = clamp(image_angle,330,30)
}

the cause of this is the transition from 360 to 0 degrees.

what you can do is find the difference between the angle your character is facing and to the direction the gun is facing. Then clamp that difference. Then add that difference back to the angle your character is facing. Example:

Code:
var _mouse_angle = point_direction( x, y, mouse_x, mouse_y );
var _difference_angle = clamp(angle_difference( _mouse_angle, character_angle ), -constraint, constraint );
gun_angle = character_angle + _difference_angle;

Ubu

Or since Game Maker understands degrees larger than 360 you can use:
image_angle = clamp(image_angle,330,390)

S

SupaTroopaAlpha

I tried
Code: