• Hey Guest! Ever feel like entering a Game Jam, but the time limit is always too much pressure? We get it... You lead a hectic life and dedicating 3 whole days to make a game just doesn't work for you! So, why not enter the GMC SLOW JAM? Take your time! Kick back and make your game over 4 months! Interested? Then just click here!

Graphics Using CAD software to produce models for a 3D game

Lumenflower

Yellow Dog
I've been using CAD software (Namely SolidWorks, though others are available and presumably work similarly) for a while now and have always wondered whether it's a viable tool for game model development. My background is in the CAD side of things, rather than in game development and computer science, so I wouldn't know the first thing about how to import a SolidWorks part into Game Maker, but I imagine it will involve the use of some sort of converter to turn the part into a GM-recognised file type.

For those not familiar with SolidWorks, it is a brand of CAD (computer-aided design) software used for producing engineering parts and drawings. Primarily, parts are constructed from geometrical sketches rather than polygons and are therefore infinitely scalable.

I appreciate that in many contexts, such as producing complex organic shapes, another tool would be better suited to the task. However, SolidWorks would be well-suited for producing - say - a robot model, where all the geometry is mathematical, so there are few complex curves.