• Hey Guest! Ever feel like entering a Game Jam, but the time limit is always too much pressure? We get it... You lead a hectic life and dedicating 3 whole days to make a game just doesn't work for you! So, why not enter the GMC SLOW JAM? Take your time! Kick back and make your game over 4 months! Interested? Then just click here!
  • Hello [name]! Thanks for joining the GMC. Before making any posts in the Tech Support forum, can we suggest you read the forum rules? These are simple guidelines that we ask you to follow so that you can get the best help possible for your issue.

Windows url_open messes up window resolution

J

Janar

Hi

This is my first post in the GMS2 forums and even though I went through forum guidelines and links for new members I'm sorry if there's any formatting issues.
I've been using GMS2 for nearly 6 months and never ran into a problem which I couldn't solve by myself by using google search (which mostly guided me here, GMS2 reddit or YouTube) or tutorials. Sadly I've now run into a simple problem which I can't seem to find a solution for.

What I want to do in GMS2:
Add a Twitter button into my game and add functionality to it so that if it is pressed that would open my Twitter account url in web browser. To do that I'm using a HTML5 function "url_open" which I want to use for my Windows platform game (that itself feels controversial, but according to my searches it should work).

The problems:
  1. The function itself works and if the area is clicked the url is opened in the browser, but if I return to the game the window resolution is slightly smaller that it should be (1864x1049 instead of 1920x1080) and the game should be in full screen, but its not even reaching to the borders of the screen (check the pictures below).
  2. If the screen is scaled up to 150% (in Windows display settings) the resolution after returning to the game is even a bit smaller (1841x1036).