Windows URI Schemes in GameMaker (C++)

W

woubuc

Hi all

I'm trying to develop a simple DLL that lets you create a URI scheme for your game. I started working on this because GameMaker currently lacks an easy way to get data from a website into a game, but with URI scheme support that would become a lot easier.

However, I'm pretty new to C++ and I can't get it to work the way it should, so I was wondering if someone with some C++ experience would mind taking a look at my code to see where the problem lies and perhaps see how it can be solved?

I've explained the issue in here (and that's also where you find the code): https://github.com/woubuc/URISchemer

Any tips / ideas / suggestions / thoughts / etc are very welcome.

Thanks!

Juju

I have been wondering about this / trying to do this for the better part of a year. This would be quite the breakthrough if it was achieved.

L

Lahssoo

A (very) quick look at your code and it seems it should work. On the other hand, I believe you need elevated rights to be able to modify something in the registry, could that be your problem?

W

woubuc

A (very) quick look at your code and it seems it should work. On the other hand, I believe you need elevated rights to be able to modify something in the registry, could that be your problem?
But then the registry functions would return an error and the whole thing would not return 1, correct?

Because right now it returns 1 (success) but it doesn't do anything. Which is the part that doesn't make sense to me right now.

L

Lahssoo

But then it would return an error and the whole thing would not return 1, correct?
Possibly. I'll boot up a virtual machine to test, but I'm not using visual c++ so I won't use your code.

L

Lahssoo

Wait, your code is wrong, line 43 : (setDescription != ERROR_SUCCESS && setUrlProtocol != ERROR_SUCCESS)

L

Lahssoo