SOLVED UDP Hole Punching Help

B

BlockCabin

I want to create a peer to peer game like risk of rain. I'm pretty new to networking, but I really wanna learn how to do this. I don't know how to hole punch, it's that simple. I just do not. I think I get the general gist, but I have absolutely no idea how I would actually pull it off. From what I understand, it goes a little like this: The peers connect to a master server that takes their packets and sends them along. That doesn't really make sense to me though, since how would the master server be able to send packets through? I probably have it wrong. Even if that was correct though, I don't know how I'd actually be able to write that and make it work.

So basically, please help!

Tornado

This is really a complex topic.
Check this link for the start:
https://forum.yoyogames.com/index.php?threads/gmnet-engine-beginners-help.44025/
And search for other topics about networking in the forum.
If you are new to networking you have to start to inhale and understand things slowly...one at the time...

We are planning to make realtime multiplayer version of our existing game via UDP hole punching. We have a professional server which already serves our single player game, so we will of course use it too for multiplayer and UDP hole punching because for hole punching you need a mediator between two peers (clients/players) helping them establish peer to peer connection. After they have a connection established, they can communicate then directly with each other.

Under the link I sent you above, there is some option for free server I think...just check it out.

When we start with multiplayer we will too first have to do a lot of learning and researching...

Last edited:

ThraxxMedia

I want to create a peer to peer game like risk of rain.