Legacy GM two backgrounds and between them it was rain with lightning

P

prestidigitator

Hi I should say hello I'm new here,

In short, I have a scenery background 0 is a landscape outside the window ... background 1 is a background inside the house

Between background 0 and background 1 I would like to put the object rain.
Because I would like to get the effect of rain falling with lightning outside the house window
I'm just afraid that if it will be a background-sized object, won't it cause some bugs in the game?
My guess is that background # 1 would have to be a large object to insert an interactive lightning rain object between them?
How to do something like this? such an effect and how to create a lightning rain object that I place between background 0 and background 1 or an object that replaces background 1?

please help ... I am a novice programmer ..

Really none of the forum members wants to help me solve this issue?

TheouAegis

Which version of gamemaker are you using? If you are using Studio 2, backgrounds are inconsequential, just put an instance layer at a depth between the two background layers' depths like Nidoking said. If you are using Studio 1 or GM8 where backgrounds are separate routines, your indoors shouldn't be a background, just a sprite that you draw using draw_sprite() at a depth that is lower than your rain/lightning object.

P

prestidigitator

I am using gms 1.4 fine so it must be a sprite object instead of a background.
i just haven't tried it. because i haven't created rain and lightning object yet.
I have no idea for that.
I am a fresh user of gms 1.4

would any of you help me to write something like this with an explanation in the code?

Anyone can help me with this? Please...

ricardo1996