Troubles with pursuit AI.

JacobV

So for my game, I have an enemy type that hunts down the player, and upon establishing a line of sight charges towards them. So far, everything is working fine; except for the AI which actually pursues the player. I've tried various methods; starting with mp_potential_step, which was stupid and choppy. Then I moved to grid-based AI, which has various problems itself; they will only move in the 8 base directions, and tend to overlap into what looks and acts like one entity.

I'd like to use grid-based, but what I have so far doesn't cut it and I am very new to coding top-down AI. Anyone have any ideas on how I can fix these problems?

I've attached some of my code to help.

Code:
// Creation Event

path = path_add();
pos = 1;
xx = path_get_point_x(path,pos)
yy = path_get_point_y(path,pos)
Code:
// Step Event
xx = path_get_point_x(path,pos)
yy = path_get_point_y(path,pos)

if instance_exists(obj_player)
    {
    mp_grid_path(grid,path,x,y,obj_player.x,obj_player.y,1)
    path_set_kind(path, 1);
    turn(point_direction(x,y,obj_player.x,obj_player.y)+90,13)  // This is to handle the image angle, has no impact on the actual movement
    motion_add(point_direction(x,y,xx,yy),1)
    }

P

ph101

While you are creating a path you are not starting it with path start. A typical use of pathfinding is this:

Code:
with (obj_Enemy)
    {
    path = path_add();
    if mp_grid_path(grid, path, x, y, obj_Player.x, obj_Player.y, 1)
       {
       path_start(path, 0, 3, 0);
       }
    }
which I took directly from the manual which you can access by pressing f1 in GM.

You also need to create your grid and add any obstables to your grid before hand. To create your described behaviour of line of site - you will need more than what you have shown no doubt.

JacobV

The grid is being created in a different object to improve performance. The reason I am not using path_start is because it restricts how I can customize and smooth the movement.