GameMaker Trouble with attack animation not working/playing only one frame

L

Lovecraft

Hello! I'm really new to programming and game dev, and have run into a problem with my code. No matter what I've looked up and tired nothings been able to fix my problem. Does anyone know what i'm doing wrong? Any help would be appreciated, thank you. Below is my step code. I have a creation code and step code only.

Code:
//Get Player Input
key_left = keyboard_check(vk_left);
key_right = keyboard_check(vk_right);
key_jump = keyboard_check_pressed(vk_space);
key_attack = keyboard_check_pressed(vk_shift);

//Calculate Movement
var move = key_right - key_left;

hsp = move * walksp;

vsp = vsp + grv;

if (place_meeting(x,y+1,oWall)) && (key_jump)
{
    vsp = -10;
}
//Horizontal Collision
if (place_meeting(x+hsp,y,oWall))
{
    while (!place_meeting(x+sign(hsp),y,oWall))
    {
    x = x + sign(hsp);
    }
    hsp = 0;
}

x = x + hsp;

//Vertical Collision
if (place_meeting(x,y+vsp,oWall))
{
    while (!place_meeting(x,y+sign(vsp),oWall))
    {
    y = y + sign(vsp);
    }
    vsp = 0;
}
y = y + vsp;

//Animation
if (!place_meeting(x,y+1,oWall))
{
    sprite_index = sPlayerA;
    image_speed =0;
    if (sign(vsp) > 0) image_index = 1; else image_index = 0;
}
else
{
    image_speed = 1;
    if (hsp == 0)
    {
        sprite_index = sPlayer;
    }
    else
    {
        sprite_index = sPlayerR;   
    }
}

if (hsp != 0) image_xscale = sign(hsp);

if (hsp = 0)
{
    if (key_attack)
    {
        sprite_index = sPlayerGA;
        image_speed = 1;
    }
}

samspade

You are resetting your sprite_index each step.

this code:
Code:
if (hsp = 0)
{
    if (key_attack)
    {
        image_speed = 1;
    }
}
is immediately overwritten with this code:
Code:
{
    sprite_index = sPlayerA;
    image_speed =0;
}
else
{
    image_speed = 1;
    if (hsp == 0)
    {
        sprite_index = sPlayer;
    }
    else
    {
        sprite_index = sPlayerR;   
    }
}