• Hey Guest! Ever feel like entering a Game Jam, but the time limit is always too much pressure? We get it... You lead a hectic life and dedicating 3 whole days to make a game just doesn't work for you! So, why not enter the GMC SLOW JAM? Take your time! Kick back and make your game over 4 months! Interested? Then just click here!

GameMaker Touch control joysticks

S

Slothagami

I'm making a local co-op game for two players, this is my first time adding touch controls for a game (it's not for a phone, my computer has a touch screen)

I was making a joystick in screen for each player using the dragging event, and only one of the joysticks work at a time, is there a solution to this?

here is my code:
GML:
// o_touchcontrol draw event
//draw circle for the joystidk limits and smaller one for player input place
draw_set_alpha(0.5);
draw_set_color(color);
draw_circle(x, y, touch_radius, true);
draw_circle(touchx, touchy, touch_radius / 4 - (joystick * 4), false);
draw_circle(button_x, button_y, touch_radius / 4 - (button * 4), false);
draw_set_color(c_white);
draw_set_alpha(1);
GML:
// o_touchcontrol drag event
if point_distance(x, y, event_data[? "posX"], event_data[? "posY"]) <= touch_radius {
    touchx = event_data[? "posX"];
    touchy = event_data[? "posY"];
    joystick = true;
}
GML:
// o_touchcontrol drag end event
touchx = x;
touchy = y;

joystick = false;
button = false
thanks in advance!

Last edited by a moderator:

kburkhart84

Firehammer Games
1. The code only shows where you are drawing stuff....it doesn't actually show where you are checking the touches. If you are using the drag event, I'm not sure if it will work for multiple touches in the first place, even if you have multiple objects.

2. Are you sure that your screen supports multiple touches...some don't.