• Hey Guest! Ever feel like entering a Game Jam, but the time limit is always too much pressure? We get it... You lead a hectic life and dedicating 3 whole days to make a game just doesn't work for you! So, why not enter the GMC SLOW JAM? Take your time! Kick back and make your game over 4 months! Interested? Then just click here!

Topic closed no need to enter here

N

NizarPlayz

Hello i'm new to maker forums so the problem is that i have a MAZE game so like i wanted to make a folder
for my game like folder name is themes and people can create their own sprites and put in the folder and open in
game how can i make like that? sorry for bad english and i use game maker 8.0 PRO btw

jo-thijs

Hi and welcome to the GMC!

Use sprite_add for this.
To find every file in the folder, use the find_file_* functions.

N

NizarPlayz

But i don't know how to code for example i want to do like this there is a folder where my game is located and the person opens game it automatically generates a new folder called themes where the person can modify the game like changing sprites if my player is blue in the game and a person creates image 32x32 full red and put it in themes folder then it replaces the blue player with red player so can you give me codes so i could copy them

N

NizarPlayz

also i created an object named folder added an event called other game start and executed a code file but i don't know what to do in it now? be sure to reply fast :/

jo-thijs

In that case, I advise you to learn to code, it's quite fun!

Anyway, to create a directory, you do this:
Code:
if directory_exists(working_directory + "\themes")
    directory_create(working_directory + "\themes");
For other things, I lack information to help you.
For example, what images should be picked from the folder to be used for what?

N

NizarPlayz