Tips for newbies?

N

Nescko

I'm not the type that likes posting or talking about themselves but anyways. I'm new to gamemaker, and the whole process of making games. A year ago I made a platformer on stencyl for android and uploaded it to test it out. It was literally just a test game with no sound, no killable enemies, no points, hp, etc. Just moving, jumping, and art stuff to see how the whole creating and uploading worked. It took me just a week to figure everything out and do it although, I'm just a quick learner, decent artist and good with understanding mechanics of how things work. Since then a lot of personal things came into play and I had to stop. I'm now in a steady job with a lot of free time and able to finally get back into it. I've had Game Maker for a couple days and all I've done is watched tutorials and tinkered around all day. Now I figured I'd ask people with experience of all the trial and errors, how did everyone start and would recommend starting out if in my position? Should I start small, smaller, not-as-detailed games; or spend a lot of time on my first project? (small seems a better choice but as perfectionists go, it's hard to throw out something that you didn't put your heart into) :confused:

Gamer (ex-Cantavanda)

〜Flower Prince〜
https://forum.yoyogames.com/index.php?threads/popular-gamemaker-books.948/#post-12792
Here's some game maker books to learn a lot about the programming and GML code.

I would recommend downloading engines and examples, and checking/figuring them out so you can see how everything ties together in a finished product.