• Hey Guest! Ever feel like entering a Game Jam, but the time limit is always too much pressure? We get it... You lead a hectic life and dedicating 3 whole days to make a game just doesn't work for you! So, why not enter the GMC SLOW JAM? Take your time! Kick back and make your game over 4 months! Interested? Then just click here!

This code works, but why? draw_set_alpha at the end

Bentley

Hello. Just a heads up, I'm a beginner.

I made a room transition object that draws a rectangle over the screen. It fades in in room 1, and then fades out in room 2. Here's the code. (I'm sorry for the lack of indentation. After I posted, the indentation was removed).

draw_set_alpha( alpha );
draw_rectangle( 0, 0, room_width, room_height, false );

if( fade == "in" )
{
if( alpha < 1 ) alpha += 0.01;
else
{
alpha = 1;
room_goto_next();
fade = "out";
}
}

if( fade == "out" )
{
if( alpha > 0 ) alpha -= 0.01;
else instance_destroy();
}

draw_set_alpha( 1 );

If I understand the Draw event correctly (which I'm sure I don't), it runs every step, and it also runs every line of code every step. So going off that bad logic, why doesn't the last line, which defaults opacity to 1, not turn the screen black at the end of that step? (And at the start of the next step, draw_set_alpha( alpha ) would set opacity back to the value of the variable alpha).

Thank you for reading. By the way, if you see anything unrelated that I can improve on, please let me know.

Last edited:

obscene

You might need to rephrase that, question doesn't make sense :p

Why WOULD draw_set_alpha(1) interrupt anything? It just sets the draw alpha to 1.

Is all that code in the draw event or is part in the step?

Bingdom

Googledom
You set the alpha back to 1 after everything has been drawn. If you want it to effect the rectangle, put it after draw_set_alpha(alpha) and before draw_rectangle()

Btw, use code blocks [ code ] [ /code ] (without spaces)

Bentley