GameMaker the size of my sprite changes when i flip the image - can anyone help out?

i_am_virgo

context: so i'm currently working on a princess peach themed game as a birthday gift for my sister, and i am quite new to programming. i've been following the general Shaun Spalding platformer tutorial to get a feel for GML, and i've run into a problem when trying to flip the sprite when the direction of movement changes. by using the image_xscale variable combined with sign to return info and any given key-check or hsp variable, that should flip the sprite's image horizontally, if i'm correct.

the problem: by using this code (screenshots included), my sprite scale changes so that poor little peach looks about half her width than before. essentially, the moment i use either directional button, her scale changes. i've fiddled around with all of the object's code from top to bottom for a few hours and i haven't figured out why.

i'm very new to GML and if anyone has any advice, it would be greatly appreciated!

--

photo 1: the general animation code
photo 2: peach's normal sprite
photo 3: when homegirl tries to move and loses 50 pounds

Attachments

rytan451

It looks like your princess starts at image_xscale = 2, and when you turn her around, she becomes image_xscale = -1.

Instead of setting image_xscale to a fixed number, consider instead setting it to, for example, -image_xscale, to flip it.

woods

image_xscale = sign(hsp)

i get that this makes the sprite flip when changing direction +/-

is one direction moving faster than the other? ie.. left spd=1 right spd =2
(wouldnt that would make the sprite stretch all wonky?)

btw is easier to help if you post your code in tags instead of screenshots

i_am_virgo

image_xscale = sign(hsp)

i get that this makes the sprite flip when changing direction +/-

is one direction moving faster than the other? ie.. left spd=1 right spd =2
(wouldnt that would make the sprite stretch all wonky?)