OFFICIAL Tech Blog - Finite State Machines

Nocturne

Friendly Tyrant
Forum Staff
Admin
002_blog_post.png

Got a new YoYoGames tech blog for you all! Ever wondered what a Finite State Machine is or how to make one? We got you covered (both GML and DnD!)

jackquake

Agreed. Nearly every object I create has a Finite State Machine in the step event. Very clean and organized.

Good stuff Mark! Keep 'em coming!

Edit: One more thing... I've NEVER used a user event before (didn't really understand why they were useful). Thanks to this article, now I do. I can see how they help immensely with code organization vs. scripts. More good stuff!

View attachment 29381

Got a new YoYoGames tech blog for you all! Ever wondered what a Finite State Machine is or how to make one? We got you covered (both GML and DnD!)​
It's been a while since I've wondered that... but yes, I have.

• initial state: put water on to boil, go to waiting state
  • waiting state: if the water is boiling add pasta and go to cooking state otherwise keep waiting
  • cooking state: test pasta by throwing it at a wall and if it sticks then go to serving state, otherwise keep cooking
  • serving state: put the pasta on a plate and go to eating state
  • eating state: eat the pasta and if finished and still hungry go to the initial state, otherwise end.
This is a pretty good introduction to "states" but you've over-simplified something fairly complex...

Take the cooking state for example: I'd recommend setting an alarm to fire the "test pasta by throwing it against the wall" event otherwise you'll probably run out of pasta long before you get to the serving state (and don't even get me started on the "cleanup" state.) Depending on the type of pasta you're using: I'd recommend waiting 8-10 minutes and then firing "test pasta" every 60 seconds thereafter. I'd also recommend working in a "stir water" event every few minutes or so during the cooking state.