• Hey Guest! Ever feel like entering a Game Jam, but the time limit is always too much pressure? We get it... You lead a hectic life and dedicating 3 whole days to make a game just doesn't work for you! So, why not enter the GMC SLOW JAM? Take your time! Kick back and make your game over 4 months! Interested? Then just click here!

TCP data?

Neptune

Say I'm wanting to send 20 pieces of data (ints, floats, strings etc) over a TCP type connection, is it reasonable to pack all of the data into a list, write the list to a string, and then send one buffer containing the string over the network? Is this pretty standard?

I'm new to networking and any information is appreciated :)

rytan451

If it works, it's reasonable. It isn't ideal, by any means: you'd usually want both ends of the connection to be in agreement on what sort of data is being sent (and in what order), and send the data directly as a buffer. Even so, "reasonable and working" is always better than "theoretically ideal, but practically not working yet".

Neptune

Thanks for reply.
On the client side, I'm not too concerned. Though likely unconventional, I'm meticulous and effective.

But for actually sending data over a network, I don't know what I'm doing -- is sending a written string in one buffer really bad, compared to sending the individual types in a few different buffers?

chamaeleon