Struct variables

DesArts

I'm new to structs with the GM update. Couldnt find a whole lot of info on how to work with struct variables.

So, if I do

var1 = {}
var2 = var1

Does that copy or just reference the same struct twice. If it doesn't copy, can I duplicate one in some other way?

Also - does passing a struct into a as a parameter like
function function(struct) {}
and altering it in there keep referencing the original struct?

Basic stuff really, It might have been said somewhere but I couldn't find it. Main issue is the duplication.

Thanks

Nocturne

Friendly Tyrant
Forum Staff
Admin
Structs (iirc) are passed by reference, and not copied. To copy a struct you'd need to use the variable_struct_* functions to loop through all the variables in a struct and copy them to a new one.

samspade

I'm new to structs with the GM update. Couldnt find a whole lot of info on how to work with struct variables.

So, if I do

var1 = {}
var2 = var1

Does that copy or just reference the same struct twice. If it doesn't copy, can I duplicate one in some other way?

Also - does passing a struct into a as a parameter like
function function(struct) {}
and altering it in there keep referencing the original struct?

Basic stuff really, It might have been said somewhere but I couldn't find it. Main issue is the duplication.

Thanks
Nocturne already answered this, but one thing I would suggest, is that if you're going to be copying a certain type of struct often, it might be worth building in a copy method to that struct. This will (probably) always be faster than using the generic method.

Joe Ellis