String continuation using the @ sign

B

BobsTheDude

I am new to GM and following some tutorials to help me learn GM2. I'm following the Space Rocks tutorial and I am at the draw_text() with the @ continuation.

GML:
draw_text(
            room_width/2, 200,
            @"Score 1,000 points to win!
            UP: Move
            LEFT/RIGHT: change direction
            SPACE: shoot

>> PRESS ENTER TO START <<
            "
        );
The thing is I see the following output:

Capture.PNG

I cannot figure out why I get these boxes.

I have changed fonts and searched with no luck.

Thanks,

BTD

Tthecreator

Your Creator!
I think that these boxes you see are the tabs you have in your code. Try and remove them and check if that was the problem.

The @ before the string makes it into a literal string, which means it tries to print every single character. This includes characters like tab (as @Tthecreator has pointed out). Because there is no "tab" character in the font, it prints a default "character not found" character, which happens to be that box. You have a few options.

1. Remove the tabs from the string and keep the @ symbol making it a literal string.
2. Remove the @ symbol turning the string into a non-literal string and instead use \n where you want the new lines to happen i.e. "This text is on the first line.\nThis text is on the next line.". This is called an escape character and there are many different ones you can look up in the manual. This might also involve setting the horizontal alignment for the text to centered using draw_set_halign(fa_center) before the draw_text() call. Though, you might already be doing that, it's impossible to know from the code given.

B

BobsTheDude

Thanks for the tip, but I am using the enter key after every line, not tab, unless there is something I am missing.

B

BobsTheDude