• Hello [name]! Thanks for joining the GMC. Before making any posts in the Tech Support forum, can we suggest you read the forum rules? These are simple guidelines that we ask you to follow so that you can get the best help possible for your issue.

Mac OSX Sprites too saturated in editor and game

Pixelkauz

Hello everyone! :) I'm relatively new to this community. I'm using GMS2 since about 2 months. After a quick search, I didn't find my topic covered here so far, and since I'm a beginner, I hope you bear with me being potentially not well informed.

Anyway, with out further ado, I present you my (weird) problem: Any sprite I will import in the editor will look far more saturated in the editor and game context than intended. To highlight this, I made 2 comparison screenshots of the original asset and the asset how it looks after importing it.

screen2.jpgscreen1.jpg

Am I missing something? Is there a setting I have enabled that oversaturates my sprites? My game looks like an oversaturated piece of candy :p

I'm using the most recent version of GMS2, on Mac. I'm mainly an artist, so I'm very picky about my colors, lol. :D Someone able to help me?

Thanks!

samspade

I don't know what would cause this, but out of curiosity have you confirmed that the hex codes are different in the sprite editor to verify it's not simply a display issue? And does the color difference exist in the game when the game is running? (i.e. is it just the editor or is there a fundamental change to the actual color data on import).

Nice art by the way.

Pixelkauz

Hey! I checked the colors, yes. They are different indeed. And it is present also in a running game, unfortunately. :(

Pixelkauz

Actually, the image editor in GMS2 will tell me that the hex code is the same as the original color is, but the actually displayed color is different. Not sure what is going on - but in the side by side comparison the higher saturation is definitely visible...

Pixelkauz