GML Sprite walk animation not working?

C

chimericalCharlatan

I'm relatively new to GML, so bear with me. I'm coding my player's movement/animation etc etc but the problem is, while the player moves and switches to the correct sprite according to the key pressed, the sprite doesn't actually animate. I know I'm doing something wrong but I'm not sure what. Here's my code:

Code:
if keyboard_check(vk_left) x -= 2
if keyboard_check(vk_right) x += 2
if keyboard_check(vk_up) y -= 2
if keyboard_check(vk_down) y += 2

if keyboard_check_pressed(vk_left)
    sprite_index = spr_player_l
    global.moving = true
if keyboard_check_pressed(vk_right)
    sprite_index = spr_player_r
    global.moving = true
if keyboard_check_pressed(vk_up)
    sprite_index = spr_player_b
    global.moving = true
if keyboard_check_pressed(vk_down)
    sprite_index = spr_player_f
    global.moving = true

if keyboard_check_released(vk_left)
    global.moving = false
if keyboard_check_released(vk_right)
    global.moving = false
if keyboard_check_released(vk_up)
    global.moving = false
if keyboard_check_released(vk_down)
    global.moving = false

if global.moving = true
    image_speed = 0.2

if global.moving = false
    image_index = 0
    image_speed = 0

Perseus

Not Medusa
Forum Staff
You need to use curly brackets to group actions together if there's more than one action that is to be executed when a condition is met. The if statement will only dictate whether the first of the following actions is executed or not. So, for instance, in your code, if global.moving = false controls only the image_index assignment, and the assignment which sets image_speed to 0 is always executed regardless of whether the aforementioned condition is met or not. Since image_speed winds up being reset to 0 every step, the spite doesn't animate. The same thing applies to the rest of your if statements.

Here's how I'll write that bit of code:
Code:
if (global.moving) {
    image_speed = 0.2;
} else {