• Hey Guest! Ever feel like entering a Game Jam, but the time limit is always too much pressure? We get it... You lead a hectic life and dedicating 3 whole days to make a game just doesn't work for you! So, why not enter the GMC SLOW JAM? Take your time! Kick back and make your game over 4 months! Interested? Then just click here!
  • Hello [name]! Thanks for joining the GMC. Before making any posts in the Tech Support forum, can we suggest you read the forum rules? These are simple guidelines that we ask you to follow so that you can get the best help possible for your issue.

Spash Screen does not work

obscene

I think I've been using GM for about 3 years and I've never seen a splash screen appear not one time. Seems like it would pretty straight forward. Doesn't work when I run the game in GM Studio, or as an executable, or from Steam.

1 ) Is there another setting somewhere?
2 ) Specific format or exact size requirements? (Doesn't appear to be)
3 ) Should this appear even when running inside GM or only when exported?

upload_2017-2-14_12-56-12.png

matharoo

manualman
GameMaker Dev.
I think splash screens appear for the time it takes for the game to load. If there's no splash screen, it could be that the game loaded instantly. Still, can be wrong.

obscene

There's a good 10 seconds between the time I try to open it and when it finally opens, it's a pretty large game.

I've got the same issue. The splash screen will not display at all. Our project is also fairly large. Could be a bug in GameMaker?

N

nicoltoons

The splash screen loaded at global game settings shows for just 1 second

There are other ways to go about it

To get your splash screen to show longer, import it as a background, create an obj_ intro. In the create event, start a timeline and add the steps according to how long you want it to last. Let it be the first room in the game. Create rm_ intro and place obj_ intro in there with your splash screen as a background.

obscene