Mac OSX Space Rocks Tutoriel

S

Sojourner

I have a few problems. I stopped at about 9:18 in the GameMaker DnD Attacking and Collisions video on YouTube. I don't know how to drag DnD boxes to the side, as they just snap back into position. When the bullet collides with an asteroid, it comes up with an error.

ERROR in
action number 1
of StepEventobj_asteroid
for object obj_bullet

Variable obj_bullet.spr not set before reading it.

Nidoking

You're using a variable called "spr" in an object called "obj_bullet". You have not defined the spr variable in that instance of obj_bullet. Fix that.

S

Sojourner

First of all, thank you for the quick answer. I'm new to GameMaker and coding entirely. Where would I find the issue to fix it?

Apologies for the confusion on my part.

Nidoking

You would find the issue in the obj_bullet, where you use a variable called spr. There is literally no further information that any person, alive or dead, can supply to you on the subject of this problem, because you have not provided enough information to give any more.

S

Sojourner

As I said, I'm very new to this. I don't know what information to supply.

I will try to fix it with your help. Thank you.

Nidoking

If you provided the information about where you're using the spr variable in the obj_bullet, which is somewhere in the Step event for obj_asteroid, then I would be able to tell you where you're using the spr variable in the obj_bullet in the Step event for obj_asteroid. You're really going to have to meet me halfway here.

S

Sojourner

This is my first project on GameMaker, and I'm using the Space Rocks tutorial on YoYo Games' channel. I'd be entirely willing to communicate more information, I just don't know how.

Under my obj_asteroid's Step event is two things. There's a wraparound function and a rotation function, none of which have anything to do with the bullet.

The obj_bullet doesn't have a step event.