Some Turn-Based RPG help? (I'm New)

D

DeveloperCetus

Hello everyone! I'm Developer Cetus and I'm new to GameMaker and the community in general, so before I go on, I wanna say that if I post this in the wrong place, can you (a mod I home) move it or tell me where I can move it? Thank you!

Anyways, I'm creating an RPG thats a mix of FNaF World and Final Fantasy. And what;s gottem me the most stumped is how theres it 0 tutorials for the one close to what I want.

So I come to everyone here. And thats where I present my idea.

Here we have a simple battle I made in Paint.NET (boo me, amirite?) of Cetus (The shiny Froakie) encountering a Wheezle.

What I want to do first is have an engine. Where you select all your attacks for all 4 party members then the battle plays out. So for example, if there was two Cetus' and Cetus 2 was slower than Wheezle, you could select what their attacks are gonna be, then when the turn starts Cetus 1 would attack Wheezle, Wheezle would attack whoever, then Cetus 2 would attack then the turn ends. Much like Pokemon, but using 4 Pokemon at once if that helps any.

Next, I want to create a menu UI system. Where you can select Cetus' menu icon at the bottom and have several options. Attack, Special, Item or Run. That I might be able to fight somewhere else but if anyone can tell me now, it would help me a lot.

Next, I want to create a working health bar that will turn colors when someone has taken damage. Like if Cetus were to take mortal damage, his health bar would be red or close TO red.

Now for the biggest problem: II don't now exactly how to code. I'm learning, yes, but I don't know much to create THIS. This DOESN'T mean I want people to code thus up all for me. If you could give examples or steps on what to do, that would help. But I'm not asking ANYONE to code this for me. If you do, well okay thank you so much. But I wanna be able to learn this. SO if you give examples and what not, that would help me immensely.

D

DeveloperCetus