• Hey Guest! Ever feel like entering a Game Jam, but the time limit is always too much pressure? We get it... You lead a hectic life and dedicating 3 whole days to make a game just doesn't work for you! So, why not enter the GMC SLOW JAM? Take your time! Kick back and make your game over 4 months! Interested? Then just click here!

Some (possibly dumb) questions

S

Saintphillip

Hey guys, I'm in a bit of a dilemma and am now looking around for a solution and have ended up here- Where hopefully one of you fine people can help me.

I am not a programmer, I am actually a writer and approx a year and a half ago I decided to try my hand at making the game ive always dreamed of- A story rich , turn based rpg with a western style and mature theme. Obviously, RPG maker was the perfect choice since the engine did everything I needed more or less and there were scripts available to do what it could not. I purchased Unity assets of monsters and took screenshots of them posed in unity , used Fuse to make main character portraits and then cut them out and photoshopped them to add them into my game as 2d images. I made maps in photoshop and have put a ton of work into this game- It looks nothing like an RPG maker game.

I did all of this work and planned on paying an artist to do the spritework I needed once I was far enough along in the process- Well, I hit that point recently where I was ready to shell out some money and found out sadly that there are limitations in the RPG maker engine which will require massive scripting changes (and possibly massive bugs and compatibility issues with the work ive already done) in order to have the sprites not look like cartoons and be as detailed as I want them.

I probably should have checked that out before I started but I really thought that with everything I was able to change and do myself that sprites would be the easy part and it would be 'plug and play'- Everything else was quite easy lol...I guess live and learn.