• Hey Guest! Ever feel like entering a Game Jam, but the time limit is always too much pressure? We get it... You lead a hectic life and dedicating 3 whole days to make a game just doesn't work for you! So, why not enter the GMC SLOW JAM? Take your time! Kick back and make your game over 4 months! Interested? Then just click here!

Mac OSX Some beginner questions

K

krisde

Hi,

I am completely new to game development, following the tutorial "My First Game".

There are some questions that arise and I was not able to solve through searching Google / this forum. Hope someone could help me out a bit.
  1. The coding experience is a bit difficult to me, since I code with Sublime Text / Atom at work (websites). They have features I miss in GMS 2. Such as auto-closing brackets and multiple cursors. Are there any settings for the code editor I am missing?
  2. In chapter 5 (Scoring) of the tutorial, the author used with() to raise the score variable inside obj_score. I am wondering if this has advantages over the simpler dot notation (obj_score.thescore += 5 for example). Both seem to work. Or is this personal preference only?
  3. As of this bug report in Mac beta, show_debug_message() was fixed and should work. But with newest GMS 2 (IDE v2.1.2.257 Runtime v2.1.2.172), it doesn't output anything in the output window. The ticket references OS X El Capitan, I am on High Sierra (newest).
Greetings from Germany

OverLogic

1. no you can't do anything about it
2. pretty much but you can use the with() if you want to do a lot of stuff
3. i am on gms1.4 and i don't know how to help you on that.

R

Ragedleinad

Hi,

I am completely new to game development, following the tutorial "My First Game".

There are some questions that arise and I was not able to solve through searching Google / this forum. Hope someone could help me out a bit.