GML [SOLVED] var instance_create() doesn't change instance variables

N

NeZvers

I have a game master object that is creating controller objects and player objects in Room Start event but for some reason, It doesn't change needed variables (they stay as they are defined by default). All I need it to toggle what inputs controllers should respond.
I don't get it, I thought that's how you can tweak created objects.

Code:
/// SPAWN CONTROLLERS & PLAYERS

var controller1 = instance_create(x,y,par_controller);
var sp = instance_find(oSpawn, irandom(instance_number(oSpawn) - 1));
var p1 = instance_create(sp.x,sp.y,obj_player);

// Doesn't work like this
p1.controller = controller1;
p1.character = global.player1character;
p1.touchCtrl = 0;
p1.keyboardCtrl = 0;
p1.gamepadCtrl = 1;
p1.gamepadIndex = 0;

obj_display_manager.target = p1;

while(sp.x == p1.x && sp.y == p1.y){
    sp = instance_find(oSpawn, irandom(instance_number(oSpawn) - 1));
}

var controller2 = instance_create(x,y,par_controller);
var p2 = instance_create(sp.x,sp.y,obj_player);

// And doesn't work like this
with(p2){
    controller = controller2;
    character = global.player1character;
    touchCtrl = 0;
    gamepadCtrl = 0;
    keyboardCtrl = 1;
    gamepadIndex = 1;
}

Last edited:

Pfap

What does the create event of obj_player look like?

Code:
//create event of obj_player
controller = noone;
character = -1;
//etc....
Do you have them set to initial back to what they were each time the are created?
Then each new room would set them back to defaults, you could make a persistent object and then save the obj_players state and then update the create event with the saved variables.

samspade

I have a game master object that is creating controller objects and player objects in Room Start event but for some reason, It doesn't change needed variables (they stay as they are defined by default). All I need it to toggle what inputs controllers should respond.