Shaders [Solved]Trying to understand generally how vertex buffers and shaders work

I'm a noob, so bare that in mind :)

I am looking at using vertex buffers and shaders for animating objects, and was wondering whether my current approach has any benefits for this method of "drawing". I have my shape defined and can draw it, but am totally flummoxed by how you then re-position the vertexes using a shader.

Some objects are rotating around a specific point at an unchanging length. Their positions from the origin for each angle have already been calculated, and the x difference / y difference stored in an array. The maths is only done once, and hopefully accessing one array position is better than redoing multiple lengthdir_x/y calculations each time.

1) If the shader is just saying "this corner was here before, and now I want it over there", is there anything to still be gained from handing it to the GPU in a vertex buffer? This is my code in a step event, from when I was just drawing textured primitives:
Code:
var is_x = x;
var is_y = y;
var is_ang = round(point_direction(is_x, is_y, mouse_x, mouse_y));
if is_ang > is_360
{is_ang -= is_360;}
image_angle = is_ang;
first_x = is_x + is_array_joint[is_ang, 0];
first_y = is_y + is_array_joint[is_ang, 1];
Could I pass the origin point (is_x, is_y) to the shader, along with 'is_ang' and the array, and then have it perform the basic maths of:

is_x + is_array_joint[is_ang, 0];

to get the positions? Which I guess adds up to slightly less for the CPU to do?

2)If there is still some benefit to be had from using a vertex buffer and shader: how would I go about doing it?

GML:
vertex_format_begin();
vertex_format_add_position();
vertex_format_add_textcoord();
vertex_format_add_colour();
vertex_format_add_custom(vertex_type_float2, vertex_usage_position) <<<<<<<<< ??
format = vertex_format_end();
joint_buffer = vertex_create_buffer();
vertex_begin(joint_buffer, format);

vertex_position(joint_buffer, second_x, second_y);