• Hey Guest! Ever feel like entering a Game Jam, but the time limit is always too much pressure? We get it... You lead a hectic life and dedicating 3 whole days to make a game just doesn't work for you! So, why not enter the GMC SLOW JAM? Take your time! Kick back and make your game over 4 months! Interested? Then just click here!

(SOLVED) Struggle with surfaces: newbie question

C

candlelight2007

I'm working on a simple "pause" feature where on a key pressed a snapshot of the current screen/room (using surface) would be shown with some stuff drawn on top ("game paused" message, etc.). Then on the "unpause" trigger, the surface would be released and the game would resume. All seems to be working great, except when the surface is released, I lose all control of all existing objects in the room. They become non responsive. I am new to surfaces, I admit, so to create one I followed the manual 's article on view_surface_id almost to the letter. Anyone can point me in the right direction?

Here are the snippets: I use obj_freeze object to control the actions. I commented out activate/deactivate statements to make debugging easier.

on Create:
-----------
GML:
roomIsFrozen = false;
room_snapshot = -1; // surface we will be using to create a snapshot of the screen
On Key Pressed:
------------------
GML:
if roomIsFrozen != true {    //
    roomIsFrozen = true;    // freeze
    if !surface_exists(room_snapshot) {
        room_snapshot = surface_create(CAM_WIDTH, CAM_HEIGHT); // CAM_WIDTH and CAM _HEIGHT are macros I used for simplicity
        view_surface_id[0] = room_snapshot;
    }

// deactivate all layers except Settings layer
    //instance_deactivate_all(true);

} else {
    roomIsFrozen = false;    // unfreeze

surface_free(room_snapshot);

// re-activate layers
    //instance_activate_all();
}

on Draw GUI:
--------
GML:
if roomIsFrozen == true {

if surface_exists(room_snapshot) {
        draw_surface_stretched(room_snapshot, 0, 0, CAM_WIDTH, CAM_HEIGHT)
    }