• Hey Guest! Ever feel like entering a Game Jam, but the time limit is always too much pressure? We get it... You lead a hectic life and dedicating 3 whole days to make a game just doesn't work for you! So, why not enter the GMC SLOW JAM? Take your time! Kick back and make your game over 4 months! Interested? Then just click here!

Legacy GM [SOLVED]Sprites are being drawn behind my room.

A

ASpaceWorm

I'm still very new to GML and am learning, but I've run into this very weird issue. I don't have much of anything going on yet, but I have a room that's empty except for a game_manager object. On create, it runs this script:

Code:
// Initialize both players and the map

player_turn = 1;

player_1 = instance_create(0,0,player);

player_turn = 2;
player_2 = instance_create(0,0,player);

generateMap();
Inside generateMap(), we have:

Code:
// Create the initial map based on input grid

mapGrid = ds_grid_create(1,0);

if(file_exists("testMap.txt"))
{
   file = file_text_open_read("testMap.txt");
   while(!file_text_eof(file))
   {
       ds_grid_resize(mapGrid, ds_grid_width(mapGrid), ds_grid_height(mapGrid) +1);       

line = file_text_readln(file);
   if(string_length(line) - 1 > ds_grid_width(mapGrid))
   {
           ds_grid_resize(mapGrid, string_length(line), ds_grid_height(mapGrid));
   }

for(var i = 1; i < string_length(line); i++)
   {
       currChar = string_char_at(line, i);
       if(string_ord_at(line, i) > 30)
       {
           mapGrid[# i, ds_grid_height(mapGrid) - 1] = string_char_at(line, i);
       }
   }
}
file_text_close(file);
}

height = ds_grid_height(mapGrid);
width = ds_grid_width(mapGrid);

// Center the map on the screen
//mapLeft = (view_wview[0] / 2) - ((width * CELL_WIDTH) / 2);
//mapTop = (view_hview[0] / 2) - ((height * CELL_HEIGHT) / 2);

/*
for(var i = 0; i < width; i++)
{
   for(var j = 0; j < height; j++)
   {
       if(mapGrid[# i, j] == "G")
       {