• Hey Guest! Ever feel like entering a Game Jam, but the time limit is always too much pressure? We get it... You lead a hectic life and dedicating 3 whole days to make a game just doesn't work for you! So, why not enter the GMC SLOW JAM? Take your time! Kick back and make your game over 4 months! Interested? Then just click here!

Shaders [SOLVED] Simplest 2d emboss bumpmapping shader

M

Mann_mit_Hut

Hey guys!

I searched the old forums and the web for a simple and fast emboss bumpmapping shader.

I think most mobile games are completly fine without cumputationally expensive multiple lightsources and real shadows, but a little bumpmapping from a long distant 45° "sunlight" would add much to the visuals of rotating sprites.

So what i'm searching for is a simple shader which a sprite and a bumpmap get passed to, and it renders simple (but fast) emboss bumpmapping for a fixed angle of incoming light.

I am not good at shader programming, so i hope someone has some code snippets or ideas for me ;)

Thanks!

M

Mann_mit_Hut

I already experimented with normal maps, of course its the 'perfect' solution, but i'm searching for a simpler solution for mobile.

1. Generating real normalmaps is lots of work, bumpmaps for are just paintable (i know you can convert them, but thats not perfect at all)
2. The typical normalmap shaders as you posted are using pointlights, i'm thinking of one distand light that might look cool with longshadows.
3. Normalmap shaders are expensive to compute, a little fake should do it

M

Mann_mit_Hut

Hey guys,

now i'm trying myself because it shouldn't be so hard ;)

I got a simple shader up and running, but i'm stuck at getting the bumpmap into the shader. It seems to ignore my second texture and handles it as it was the original gm_basetexture.

Code:
varying vec2 v_vTexcoord;
varying vec4 v_vColour;
uniform sampler2D bump; //bump map

void main()
{
    gl_FragColor = texture2D( bump, v_vTexcoord );
}