• Hey Guest! Ever feel like entering a Game Jam, but the time limit is always too much pressure? We get it... You lead a hectic life and dedicating 3 whole days to make a game just doesn't work for you! So, why not enter the GMC SLOW JAM? Take your time! Kick back and make your game over 4 months! Interested? Then just click here!

Legacy GM [solved] - (possibly dumb) drawing to the GUI Layer question

JackTurbo

Hi All,

New to the forum and I'm pretty new to GMS too (having only gotten it in the humble bundle).

I am already making good progress and am working pretty much 100% in GML. I think I'm getting a good handle on most things (in large due to the wealth of resources available), however despite having read yoyo's documentation on draw gui many times, I've some questions about drawing to the GUI Layer.

Is it only possible to draw to the Gui layer in an objects GUI Draw event?

And if (as I suspect) the answer is yes, am I doing the correct thing by having objects without sprites directly defined that instead draw the relevant sprite in drawgui event? - Because if I define the sprite directly in the object it gets drawn to the game layer.

Also this presumably means I cannot directly draw to the Gui layer from within scripts? - so if I were to want to do something like this, I guess I'd want to create a variable in an object's gui event and instead manipulate that variable from the script?

Thanks for any help and sorry if the questions are bit stupid.

R

renex

You do need in fact to use a draw gui event to draw to the gui layer, but nothing's stopping you from calling a script on a draw gui event.

It's really nice to have a GUI layer, but it's also a bit tricky to work with it. Just mind that the GUI layer has its own coordinate system.