GMS 2 [Solved] Player moving super fast when holding down two keys at once

D

DaPonyMon

Hi, I'm new to gamemaker studio, and this is my first post on the forums.

The problem I have been encountering uses the following code:
Code:
//Movement
if (keyboard_check(ord("W")))
{
    instance_change(obj_player_up,false);
    obj_player_idle.y -= global.playerspeed;
}
if (keyboard_check(ord("S")))
{
    instance_change(obj_player_down,false);
    obj_player_idle.y += global.playerspeed;
}
if (keyboard_check(ord("A")))
{
    instance_change(obj_player_left,false);
    obj_player_idle.x -= global.playerspeed;
}
if (keyboard_check(ord("D")))
{
    instance_change(obj_player_right,false);
    obj_player_idle.x += global.playerspeed;
}

if (keyboard_check_released(ord("W")) && keyboard_check_released(ord("S")) && keyboard_check_released(ord("A")) && keyboard_check_released(ord("D")) or (keyboard_check(ord("W")) && keyboard_check(ord("S"))) or (keyboard_check(ord("A")) && keyboard_check(ord("D"))))
{
    instance_change(obj_player_idle,false);
}
This controls movement, and is located in the step event along with my sprinting code, and the step event is stored in the idle player which is a parent object of player right, left, up and down. The problem is, when I press W and D, W and A, S and A or S and D, the player just goes super speedy and ignores all collisions and barriers around the room. Also, when looking on debugger, I noticed playerspeed was not changing, and the FPS dropped from around 2300 to around 3, sometimes even 0.
Another problem I get is that whenever I press A and D or W and S, the player stands in a single spot and won't allow me to do anything.

Any help is greatly appreciated, as I have been trying to crack this code for around a week now with no luck, and since I'm a beginner programmer I can't really do much. Any tips on how to format or design my code better would also be appreciated.

A

Alex_Beach