• Hey Guest! Ever feel like entering a Game Jam, but the time limit is always too much pressure? We get it... You lead a hectic life and dedicating 3 whole days to make a game just doesn't work for you! So, why not enter the GMC SLOW JAM? Take your time! Kick back and make your game over 4 months! Interested? Then just click here!

GameMaker [SOLVED] Moving Platforms! Duplicate Obj. isn't working

W

wesk1288

Hey everyone, first time posting in GMC and I'm a total beginner.

In my game, I have a basic moving platform that when when the player stands on it, his speed matches it and he moves with it. That's all working fine. However, when I try to duplicate the platform obj. and place more of them into my room, only one of them works (the most recent one created). All of the platforms still have the collision and left and right movement but the player no longer matches his speed with the platform (except for the most recent one created).

What am I missing here? Thanks in advance for any help. Here is the code of my Obj_Platform:

Create Event:

randomize()

dir = choose(-1, 1);

Step Event:

//Platform Movement
x += horizontal_speed * dir;

if(x < position_from || x > position_to) {
dir *= -1;
}
//Player Detection On Platform With Movement
if(place_meeting(x, y-1, Obj_Player)){
Obj_Player.speed = horizontal_speed * dir;
} else {
if(!place_meeting(x, y-1, Obj_Player)){
Obj_Player.speed = 0;
}
}

horizontal_speed, position_from, and position_to are all set in the variable definitions of my object.

Anixias

The randomize() function only needs to be called once, at the beginning of the game.

Try putting the detection code in the player's step event rather than in the platform:
Code:
var o = instance_place(x,y+1,obj_platform);
if (instance_exists(o))
{
    speed = o.horizontal_speed*o.dir;
}
else speed = 0;