• Hey Guest! Ever feel like entering a Game Jam, but the time limit is always too much pressure? We get it... You lead a hectic life and dedicating 3 whole days to make a game just doesn't work for you! So, why not enter the GMC SLOW JAM? Take your time! Kick back and make your game over 4 months! Interested? Then just click here!

GameMaker [SOLVED] Issue with the room_goto() function

T

Toldo171

Hello everybody,

I am new to GameMaker. I have been programming a management/card game for the past 2 months, and right now I have an issue that I cannot solve by myself. That is why I need your help.

What I am trying to do

It is very simple. I want my hero to switch room when he collides with a door. I have:

• My hero obj_Hero

• My doors obj_Door

• 2 rooms, rm_House and rm_Office
What I did

Inside obj_door, I have a create event and a collision event with obj_hero :

Create event

var targetRoom = 0;

var x_target = 0;

var y_target = 0;

Collision event

room_ goto(targetRoom);

obj_Hero.x = x_target;

obj_Hero.y = y_target;

Then, inside the door instance of each room, I set up the following values:

rm_House door instance

targetRoom = rm_Office;

x_target = 1024;

y_target = 670;

rm_Office door instance

targetRoom = rm_House;

x_target = 800;

y_target = 600;

What it does ingame

The switching room thing works, but my hero is not setup at the right coordinates, instead, he is set up at random coordinates on the top left of the screen. For example, x=-16 y = 254, or x=6 y=211…

Notes

My hero obj_hero is persistent.

I only put an obj_hero instance in the first room, not in the second room.

When the random coordinates are both positives, I can see my hero on the top left on the screen, and I can control it, which means it is not a layer issue.